Opening hours & Tickets

Alexanderson day July 4th 2021

The Alexanderson day is named after the engineer and inventor Ernst Alexanderson which except for the transmitter system, only to be seen in Grimeton today, contributed to another 343 meaningful inventions that we humans benefit greatly from today. Alexanderson day falls annually on the Sunday closest to July 2, an important date for the station in several ways. July 2 1925 the station was inaugurated by the Swedish king Gustav V and on July 2 2004 the site was inscribed on UNESCO´s World Heritage List.

Alexanderson day live stream 1

Alexanderson day live stream 2

Alexanderson day is one of few days when the transmitter in Grimeton is run for its original purpose, to send telegrams on morse code. Back in the days the telegrams were received in New York, USA but today there are listeners in different parts of the world. When the signals are received by the listeners, reports is sent to the World Heritage Site via mail or social media. A listeners report consists of geographic location, audibility and sometimes technical information about the often self-designed equipment. Just like 100 years ago the callsign SAQ is still used, which is well known in the international radio community. The transmissions is made possible thanks to the Alexander Association.

During this year’s Alexanderson day July 4th two messages will be sent with the Alexanderson transmitter, which can be witnessed by a smaller amount of participants inside the transmitter hall (10.30am & 1.30pm) or live on Youtube. There for the event will be filmed. The World Heritage Site is held open between 10am-5pm, but with limited access to the transmitter hall. The guided tours are cancelled but the exhibition and the other activities can be experienced as usual – The Morse Hunt, The Radio Phantom, The obstacle course The Examination and The Walk. Kjell´s Café and the gift shop can be visited in the visitor center.

Transmission schedule July 4th 2021

Startup and tuning at 10:30 CET (08:30 UTC) with a transmission of a message at 11:00 CET (09:00 UTC)
Startup and tuning at 13:30 CET (11:30 UTC) with a transmission of a message at 14:00 CET (12:00 UTC)